Copy and paste the URL into your Browser Address Bar

Even More Links…

General information on the Ice Bucket Challenge: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice_Bucket_Challenge

Information on the disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amyotrophic_lateral_sclerosis

‘Cold hard facts’ on the Ice Bucket Challenge from Web Strategist: http://www.web-strategist.com/blog/2014/08/26/slides-cold-hard-facts-on-the-ice-bucket-challenge/

Comments about the challenge as a fundraising/awareness raising tool:

“Throwing cold water on Ice Bucket Philanthropy” (NPQ) – This article summarises the main criticisms: https://nonprofitquarterly.org/philanthropy/24686-throwing-cold-water-on-ice-bucket-philanthropy.html

“Viral memes shouldn’t dictate our charitable giving” (Vox) – Memes and celebrities drive us to donate, but we should really focus on a charity’s effectiveness: http://www.vox.com/2014/8/20/6040435/als-ice-bucket-challenge-and-why-we-give-to-charity-donate

“Critics pour cold water on the ice bucket challenge. Are they right?” (The Conversation): http://theconversation.com/critics-pour-cold-water-on-the-ice-bucket-challenge-are-they-right-30900?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

“Is Asia missing the point of the ice bucket challenge? – Taiwanese sufferer of ALS voices criticism” (Rocket News): http://en.rocketnews24.com/2014/08/25/is-asia-missing-the-point-of-the-ice-bucket-challenge-taiwanese-sufferer-of-als-voices-criticisms/

“Take the No Ice Bucket challenge” (Slate) – The No Ice Bucket Challenge: donating without taking a photo of yourself: http://www.slate.com/blogs/future_tense/2014/08/12/icebucketchallenge_you_don_t_need_an_ice_bucket_to_donate_to_als_research.html

“Why I’m not doing the #icebucketchallenge or donating for ALS” (Humanospehere): http://www.humanosphere.org/social-business/2014/08/im-icebucketchallenge-donating-als/

“Pouring cold water on the Ice Bucket Challenge” (Irish Times, 23 August) – This article is just a rant, really: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/pouring-cold-water-on-the-ice-bucket-challenge-1.1905379

“In defense of the Ice Bucket Challenge” (Florida Alligator): http://www.alligator.org/opinion/columns/article_326ffcec-2cd5-11e4-9a36-0019bb2963f4.html?mode=jqm

“In defense of the ice bucket challenge” (Chicago Now): http://www.chicagonow.com/south-i80/2014/08/in-defense-of-the-als-ice-bucket-challenge/

“In defense of the silly, shallow ALS ice bucket challenge.” (The Daily Dot): http://www.dailydot.com/opinion/in-defense-als-ice-bucket-challenge/

“Why I’m defending the ice bucket challenge” (Examiner.com): http://www.examiner.com/article/why-i-m-defending-the-ice-bucket-challenge

“Why I’m deeply grateful for the ice bucket challenge” (Forbes): http://www.forbes.com/sites/forbesleadershipforum/2014/08/26/why-im-deeply-grateful-for-the-ice-bucket-challenge/

The institutional perspective:

“Ice Bucket Challenge: Can other non-profits reproduce it?” (Beth Kanter): http://www.bethkanter.org/icebucket-2/

“How your charity can replicate the ice bucket challenge” (Change Fundraising): http://changefundraising.blogspot.ie/2014/08/how-your-charity-can-replicate.html

Comments about scarcity:

“Is the ice bucket challenge a waste of water and money?” (Grist): http://grist.org/living/ask-umbra-is-the-ice-bucket-challenge-a-waste-of-water-and-money/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=tweet&utm_campaign=socialflow

“The ice bucket challenge isn’t a waste of water and this chart proves it” (Vox): http://www.vox.com/xpress/2014/8/22/6056535/ice-bucket-challenge-water-waste?utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&utm_campaign=voxdotcom&utm_content=friday

“The ‘Rice Bucket Challenge’ reminds the world how scarce clean water is in India”: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/26/india-rice-bucket-challenge_n_5710481.html?&ncid=tweetlnkushpmg00000067

Other challenges:

Actor Orlando Jones’ challenge on hatred and prejudice (Huffington Post): http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/22/orlando-jones-bucket-challenge_n_5699021.html?&ncid=tweetlnkushpmg00000067

Actor Matt Damon used toilet water for the ice bucket challenge to highlight sanitation (Independent): http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/news/matt-damon-uses-toilet-water-in-ice-bucket-challenge-to-stress-sanitation-issues-in-developing-world-9690743.html

“No ice. Gaza is doing the rubble bucket challenge.” (Dazed): http://www.dazeddigital.com/artsandculture/article/21389/1/no-ice-gaza-is-doing-the-rubble-bucket-challenge

“Could we create an Ice Bucket Challenge for global development? Should we? (Oxfam America: http://politicsofpoverty.oxfamamerica.org/2014/08/create-ice-bucket-challenge-global-development/